Schengen Visa

What is the Schengen visa?

The schengen visa is a special type of visa issued by any of the 26 European countries that are part of the schengen area. The schengen area is named after the schengen agreement. The Schengen Agreement led to the creation of Europe’s borderless Schengen Area in 1995. The countries in this agreement have eliminated internal border controls with the other schengen members. Almost all members of the European Union are part of the schengen area except Ireland and the United Kingdom who maintain ‘Opt-outs’.
If you plan to study in Europe and you do not hold European citizenship, you may need to apply for a schengen visa. Please note that if you intend to study in Europe for a period greater than 90 days, you will also need to acquire a residence permit.
We have provided in the table below a list of countries whose citizens do not need to apply for a schengen visa to enter Europe. If your country is not in the list, you will have to apply for a visa before your departure.

Get Updates from Us!

Subscribe to get personalized tips on scholarships, admission deadlines, application processing and more.

[notice id=6805]